IELTS: Are our zoos cruel to wild animals?

Are our zoos cruel to wild animals

Recently, on public social network, there have been lots of criticize about the cruelness of keeping wild animals in zoos. Personally, i think it depends on many different factors and we can't imply this in every situation.

First of all, we must know that it is human who pollutes the environment most. We cut down forest to make room for houses, golf fields, tall buildings, etc. We build factories so that they could create things that make our life more comfortable while lots and lots of smoke are let out and damaging the ozone layer. The wild habitats are being destroyed by us so it is our responsibilities to create places for wild animals to live in and those are the zoos.

Secondly, although many law about hunting wild animals have been enforced. We cannot fully protect them from hunters in wild habitat. But with the zoos and parks, they are safe.

On the other hand, zoos are not entirely perfect for wild animals. There are lots of zoos that the animals are kept in cages, too small habitat for them to live in. The animals there are kept for entertainment, it benefits the humans not them.

So in conclusion, the zoos themselves are not bad, what we should criticize is the manner of the zoo. They should be built mainly for the animals, not for us- the humans.