IELTS; Is it worth spending on Animal protection?

Now many people think that we are spending too much money and time on protecting wild animals. The money should be better spent on human population. Do you agree or disagree?

279

In contemporary century, the endangerment and extinction of some species of wild animals have aroused citizens with sense of social responsibility. Some people hold strong support for the preservation of these animals, while others just think too much time and money have been consumed in this field. As for me, I am in favor of the former.

It should be made clear that funds for protecting wild animals can never be too much, since those animals can make money themselves. Since most of the endangered species are arranged in protected natural habitats, reserves and zoos, they can help to attract more tourists if they have chances to survive. Of course, certain amount of money is needed to be invested in this field, such as setting up reserves, hiring professionals, purchasing animal food as well as producing advertisement to raise public awareness of animal preservation.

On a further level, protecting precious wild animals , like giant pandas, rhinos and whales, contributes quite a lot to biodiversity. Scientists have testified that extinct species appear to disappear forever, even though technology tend to be rather advanced now. Unfortunately, the extinction of some species may bring about biological imbalance and other unknown problems. Thus, animal preservation deserves proper amount of time and money of our society.

Admittedly, human community is confronted with a host of pressing problems in other fields, including climate change, lack of healthcare, poor standards of living, in some regions worldwide. The governments and societies definitely should attach importance to these issues, as well as animal protection.

To conclude, it is advisable to allocate money and time to make sure that wild animals can prosper and live harmoniously with mankind.