500 word image essay (Black Hair Report)

In this essay, you will analyze and explore three images. You will show what each image means by explaining words, references, pictures that you see. As a result of exploring and analyzing these image, you and your reader should come to an understanding of the poem

Black Hair Report

The poem Black Hair" by Gary Soto describes the speaker when he was an eight year old boy admiring baseball and player Hector Moreno. Each image gives readers an opportunity to visualize the boy's childhood. Three images particular," "In July, that ring of heat, we all jumped through, I sat in the bleachers of Romain Playground in the lengthening shade that rose from our dirty feet", " "... I came here because I was Mexican, a stick

of brown light in love with those who could do it--the triple and hard slide", / I chewed sunflower seeds, I drank water, and bit my arm through the late innings ", indicates baseball as a major impact in the boy life at that time.

The first image, "In July, that ring of heat, we all jumped through, I sat in the bleachers of Romain Playground in the lengthening shade that rose from our dirty feet" shows the boy dedication to the game because it was hot outside and the boy was barefoot walking on the hot ground. The ring of heat must be beaming directly on the other side of the playground. The statement ring of heat indicates the sun shining profusely in one area. He was sweaty, waving and cheering players on. The temperature outside didn't matter; he was elated to attend the game. He idolized Hector Moreno. The boy watched Hector play ball in the hot air, so he didn't mind watching the game and inspiring Hector as Hector inspires him. The boy felt like one of the sweaty players encouraging teammates on.

The second image," I came here because I was Mexican, a stick

of brown light in love with those who could do it--the triple and hard slide". The boy is proud to be a Mexican, just like his idol Hector Moreno. The Mexican culture exhibits strong family, respect, hard working and socializing together in the environment. Although, he only weighted 50 pounds, very shy, and his black hair was short; Hector gave him confidence in himself. However, the boy not only admired Hector as a Mexican; but that he could play baseball. When Hector executed the triple and hard slide it left a big impression on the boy. The boy father died and he has little recognition of him, so he replaced that emptiness with Hector and the love of baseball.

The third image, I chewed sunflower seeds, I drank water, and bit my arm through the late innings "shows the boy becoming more anxious, and the game growing intensely". Chewing sunflower seeds and drinking water was something most baseball players did to help them concentrate, and stay hydrated. He bit his arm with anticipation when Hector lined balls into deep center. The boy face turned red, and his hair stood up straight, as he imagined rounding the bases with Hector. At that moment he felt swollen with pride because he is visualizing himself through Hector. Hector gave him an opportunity to believe in who he was. Hector showed him that obstacles could be overcome, no matter your heritage. Even though, his home life was unpleasant; the game gave him a chance to get away and cherish a dream. When Hector hit a home run, the boy was ecstatic because he represented their culture and their abilities.

In Conclusion, the three images were the boy in the summer at the playground sitting in the bleachers watching the baseball game. He was cheering and admiring Hector Moreno. The second image is the boy proud to be a Mexican along with Hector. The third image was the boy eating sunflower seeds and drinking water, as he bit his arm in the late innings. All three of these images describe a young boy adoring Hector Moreno as a Mexican hero. He feels like apart of the something, when he watches the baseball game. The boy is longing for someone to cherish and appreciate him. Although his father is dead the boy found the same love in Hector Moreno and his accomplishments. He found a way to seal that hole in his heart with a role model Hector Moreno, and by showing everyone how brilliant he was with his body. Hector did more than play base ball well; he uplifts a young boy who is searching for an identity as a Mexican.