Whether there are times when lying is acceptable.

People have different views related the topic whether there are times when lying is acceptable. Some poeple think strongly that lying means a person is mot moral no matter lying for what. Some people, on the other hand, hold that in some cases poeple have no choice but to lie. In my opinion, people can lie when they want to protect innocent people or their family member and when they want to give a people a chance to mend their ways.

To start with, people who lie in order to protect innocent people are more moral than people who do not. In the World War II, many kind-hearted people risked their lives to protect the Jews from Nazi; for instance, they pretend to have Jewish children as their owns. However, there are some people refuse to protect these children or even tell the truth to the Nazi. Obviusly, the former people are more moral even though they lied.

Furthermore, sometimes people lie because of their love to their family member. When a little girl knows her mother killed a person in order to protect her and her mother is the only one she can rely on, will she tell the truth to the police? I reckon that, in great degree, she will not. Besides, if someone criticize the girl's lying, I do not think he/she is a person with conscience.

Ultimately, if it is not a flagrant foul, I think we had better accept lying in order to preserve people's self-respect. Here is a related story. A teacher asked students to be honest concerning who broke the window but no one acknowledged. However, the teacher found the window was fixed on the next morning. Thus, the teacher did not further her investigation because she knew the student lied to preserve his/her dignity in order to not let others know he/she ever did something wrong so that he/she can contine to be a good child. Of course, when a person blunders or intends to make mistakes and trys to conceal what he/she did, we cannot misgive him/her.

In summary, even though lying is mostly not accepted, in cases above we should accept their lying.