IELTS-TASK2 : Whether the media should notice ordinary people than famous people ?

The media pay too much attention to the lives and relationships of celebrities such as actors, singers or footballers. They should spend more time reporting the lives of ordinary people instead.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Lifestyle of public figures such as actors, singers, or footballers brings the press to take much seriously. I would argue that common people also have a right to be well-known in a part of society when they achieve a success, whereas I totally disagree since they will exaggerate to reveal about their lives.

On the positive side, the lives of the common people should be reported, especially for successful people. It is an award for themselves and a motivation to influence other people. For instance, there was an activist group who blocks Hurley's riders on the trip because of they always trespass traffic light. Consequently, their action affected the government and people so that they have to concern in laws upholding. This incident will spread around the citizens which it will make a positive social change.

However, the negative side to this matter is particularly for media companies. If the media more provides about common people news, the public will not be amused with the ordinary people who have the achievement. For example, most of the Indonesian prefers to notice the celebrity lifestyle than learning much about the lives of outstanding people. The revenue source of companies definitely depends on the public figure in order to attract advertisement applier and to entertain the public.

To conclude, even though the popular people much more give the positive income for the media, they also should reveal a positive information of the ordinary people. Therefore, it is the way to attract public attention which it will stimulate the social expectation of common people.