TOEFL:UNIVs pay attention to sports and social activities as the educational issues?

Nowadays there is many universities with different policies on distributing their budget between education aspects and extra-curriculum issues like sport facilities or social activities. Although those extra activities are important, I believe that people attend to universities for the reasons of expanding their knowledge and also preparing for future careers. So in my opinion universities should be more concentrated on their educational purposes. I posit below the reasons why putting money into education is more important.

First of all, university is the only place where anyone can broaden his/her knowledge and experiences in any especial field. So most people attend to university and also pay high tuition with the expectation that they will face an milieu that is completely organized to help them to learn more about their major and career. what will happen if they notice that the university is spending a huge amount of money on minor issues like sport facilities, concerts, festivals etc? I suppose, most of them may have disagreement with this. For example, Students may expect university invite a Noble laureate to make a lecture on campus instead of inviting a famous singer in a ceremony.

On the other hand, student can be benefited from social activities and sports club outside of the university and even after being graduated. Because students spend just few years in university, I believed they should exploit all of their time on studying and using the educational facilities that are offered to them like professors, treasures of books in libraries and advanced laboratories. A prime example from my own experience may shed some light on this point. Last year, our university's dean decide to build a big swimming complex in campus and on the other hand he didn't gave enough budget to establish an advanced observatory in campus. The worst point was that there was an enormous swimming complex in the vicinity of campus that was favorable for students' usage. So my friends and I protested about the dean's decision and gathered more than 2000 signatures to cease this fault and we were successful.

In conclusion, universities should spend most of their budget on educational purposes like excelling laboratories and libraries resources or increase the ratio of instructors to students because people attend to university to increase their knowledge and also their career chance. But, it doesn't mean to pay no attention to students' daily life.