university students required to attend classes?; it should be their decision

Should university students be required to attend classes?

Some people hold the idea that it should be compulsory for all students to go to classes. Others have a converse attitude that students should be able to decide whether they want to go to class or not and that is also my point of view. I consider that self-study helps students to save time, take the initiative in managing their time study, and especially, not to be distracted by their surroundings.

First of all, there is no doubt that if going to classes is optional for students, it will be the good way to save time. They will not be stuck in traffic jams in hours to go to school. The time they use to wait for bus, or to have long walks from this campus to another for changing subjects will not be wasted. Instead, they can use these times to do exercise, take care of themselves, or take part in other helpful activities. Generally, students will have many more time for studying as well as their other personal hobbies.

Secondly, once students have right to choose whether they should attend classes or not, this will be a significant advantages for the suitable managing of their time. For instance, a student might think it is not necessary to go to certain classes. She is well aware of learning them at home as well. Therefore, a well-organized schedule is carried out with works and times in harmony. The morning is a good time for her to study math, chemistry and physics. Fifteen minutes to break for each subject is logical. And the identical order is applied for her afternoon and evening times. In recap, the initiative in controlling the time study helps students learn about how to arrange and conduct their time efficiently.

And the last is that students will not be interrupted by other students or daily trivial problems, only if going to classes is optional. While you are focusing on a lesson, for example, another student might distract you with asking for telephone number or for a date in weekend. On the other hand, studying out of class helps students to avoid these troubles. Students are all offered their own space at home, thereby the extent of concentration becomes higher, and the acquisition of knowledge is more efficient.

In conclusion, from advantages of studying out of class I have been discussed above, I assert that students should have the rights as individuals to make own decisions for attending classes. By saying that, I don't mean that going to classes is unimportant or unnecessary. What I want to say is that the liberty to choose what is good, suitable, and convenient for studying should be offered to students. Because they are those who are mature, it is their responsibility for what they do.