Two types of employees: long-serving employees and job-hoppers. Both have merits and demerits.

Q. Some companies prefer to hire employees who have stayed in one company for a long time. Others, on the other hand, prefer employees who have experienced many types of jobs. If you were an employer, which types of employee will you choose and why? Give reasons to support your choice.

Hiring good employees is important so that many employers are always concerning of choosing people. There can be simply two types of employees, long-serving employees and job-hoppers. Both types have merits and demerits.

Firstly, some employees serviced for long time for a company are sometimes people who have not challenged to a new world. This might mean that they do not have courage or abilities to do so with remaining stable positions. They are always unwilling to undertake a difficult task so their attitudes can cause to bother employers. Despite this factor, those are really wonderful resources for companies because most of them are very reliable. The long period of work have developed their specialism which is to be able to oversee overall of their business including management and the business culture. Ultimately, this kind of people can be delegated to manager's position as long as being trained about risks.

On the other hand, job-hoppers have their significant strength thanks to various experiences from many companies. They can notably adapt well to any situation and solve many kinds of problems with feasible solutions. Employers should consider them to the challengeable positions such as marketing, R&D or negotiation. However, disadvantages of hiring those can outweigh the main advantage. Those people tend to move work when they are bored on a same position and then employers' resources such as time and money to train them to be specialized will be obsolete. For this reason they should be less valued than long-term workers.

At the end of the days, it is clear that long-term workers are more reliable to give a managerial position, whereas, the opposite type of employees are also beneficial as far as only certain positions.