TOEFL TSK: The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts and uncles) is still important nowadays

Hi! There. I just completed my writing and need somebody to help me, in two aspects: grammer and structure. Since it is a practice test, I did not make any modifications. Thank you for helping me!

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Topic: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Within the last few decades, there has been an unprecedented change of people's perception about family due to the advancement of technology. Nowadays, people tend to stay at home and communicate with family members through the Internet or social media. While it brings great convenience to individuals, it also weakens love and emphasy between family members. So I do not agree with the statement that the extended family is less important now than it was in the past.

First of all, influenced by Chinese traditional culture, I, who visit my family members in every Spring Festival, am so obssessed with this characteristic culture. As a young college student, living thousand miles away from home, I really miss my grandparents, aunts and uncles. They are so significant that they remind me of those joyful moments when we got together and enjoyed the Sping Festival Gala every year. I maintain the most important position in my heart for my extended family, which can be ascribed to the conventional culture.

Second, connection with a big family will be of great assistance when I am in trouble. For example, I remember there was a time, when my family had difficulty with budgets, and in the meanwhile, I was required to pay my tuition at the beginning of the semester. Once my family heard of the news, they help us to pay for the bill and I went to the college finally. Thanks to the great power of the extended family, I could fulfill my college dream.

Last but not least, living in an extend family is full of excitement due to a large amounts of anecdotals happening in the family. I am a big fan of the tv series Modern Family, where there is a colossal extended family. The show has given me a fabulous impression that the extended family can contribute to amusement of daily life. And it also reminds me of my own family, which give me many happy moments.

To conclude, even though social media allow individuals to communicate with family members online, I still believe the extended family is vital to people nowadays, because family members can help each other and bring a lot of fun, not to mention the traditional culture.