Is it true that public libraries are not necessary since new technology can replace their functions?

Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The role of maintaining public libraries is widely debated, with some people claiming that it is not necessary as it spends a lot of money and advanced technology such as computer can substitute the function of the libraries. However, I personally do not entirely accept this because of several reasons.

To begin, the enthusiasm of reading a printed media is still immense. It is proven by there are many books are published every day in the whole world even though e-books have been existed. Also, people nowadays still tend to borrow books or other printed media since they are portable. They also do not like reading from a screen.

A further reason to be wary of this idea is old books are still definitely required for researchers or students who want to conduct some research. They need previous studies as sources of their references and libraries are the places that provide their needs. Moreover, the importance of public library as a source of information is used for people who cannot use cutting-edge technology. Sometimes, elderly citizens still eager to get new information by reading a book. If there is no complete library, they will have no place to upgrade their knowledge. In all, it cannot be denied that the presence of public libraries is still relevant in this day and age.

Of course, it is true that sophisticated computer technology is beneficial for human lives. I would say that it can support the community to improve their knowledge rather than saying that it can replace the function of public libraries.

To sum up, I strongly believe that it is completely wrong to say that maintaining public libraries is a waste of money. Either public library or modern technology has their own function.