[IELTS - Task 2] Trees are essential for the existence of the human race

TOPIC:Trees are essential for the existence of the human race as they provide the oxygen that we need to survive. Yet, daily all around the globe, large areas of woodland are being destroyed. Many people feel that they as individuals can do nothing and that only governments and large companies can halt the destruction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

The process of deforestation has become an alarming issue in our society. Although many people are conscious of the fact that trees play an indispensable part in the existence of human beings, more and more forests and areas of woodland are being destroyed as a consequence of exploiting natural resources indiscriminately and wood smuggling. Some people are of the opinion that it is the responsibility of governments and large companies to tackle this intricate matter. Personally, I strongly disagree with this point of view, as protecting the environment is the duty of all people living in this planet.

To begin with, it should be borne in mind that every single individual can help preserve the environment just by doing very small things. By way of illustration, they can plant some trees in their gardens, or take part in social activities aiming to raise the awareness of others about the significance of trees. In addition, boycotting products made of precious woods is also an effective way contributing to a decline in the number of trees cut down, simply because those who sell wood illegally will not be able to find sufficient demand for their supply.

On the other hand, some people are of the opinion that governments also play a certain part in ameliorating the situation. As far as they are concerned, the problem can be partly minimized by establishing policies to limit the exploitation of forests as well as implementing strict laws to punish those who deliberately destroy areas of woodland for their own ends. However, these laws and policies sometimes prove to be ineffective in reality, as deforestation and wood smuggling are still occurring in many countries. Therefore, it is crucial that both governments and citizens should join hands to resolve this ongoing issue.

In conclusion, if we don't put an end to deforestation in the future, human beings will run into an extremely serious trouble, which may destroy our lives some day. I firmly believe that every individual is responsible for the survival of the human race, not only the authorities. Therefore, all people need to take urgent action in order to save the planet.