IELTS Topic: Urban Sprawl: (causes and prediction)

Some findings have revealed that cities around the world are growing large. Could you outline the possible causes and predict consequences?

In recent years, there has been a growing tendency that the urban sprawl is a common phenomenon in many countries. Therefore, it is essential to evaluate the forces behind this trend and its consequences. 34

To begin with, population growth is widely accepted as the primary reason. Nowadays the space in the city centre is unlikely to provide sufficient housing availability to accommodate an ever-growing population. Besides, in order to offer lower-density living environment to local city residents, an ongoing land development towards surrounding suburbs is deemed as an preferential solution. Moreover, another problem that has intensified in the inner city is infrastructure shortage and poor conditions of buildings. Lack of amenities such as water supply and waste disposal have left no choice to urban dwellers but to resettle in the suburbs, where they have easier access to new facilities. 104

However, the sustained expansion of cities will make a marked impact on the society in several dimensions. Firstly, a high traffic volume between outer city and downtown causes severe air pollution and reduce the lands suitable for farming. Also, the enlargement of cities requires massive developments which make some areas to lose its unique qualities and traditional characteristics. Secondly, from the economic perspective, the relocation of a large population towards suburbs will pose adverse fiscal impact on the local government's infrastructure overhead. Furthermore, from the individual aspect, for those who are usually reside in suburbs, the inflow of new inhabitants will damage the community sport and make relations between neighbours fragile. 109

In conclusion, urban sprawl is a trend which exerts several negative effects. Therefore, the government should organise detail planning and sustainable development to minimise its demerits. 26 / 273