IELTS Topic: urban higher standards of living good or bad? solutions?

In recent years, some countries have experienced very rapid economic development. This has resulted in much higher standards of living in urban areas but not in the countryside. This situation may bring some problems for the country as a whole. What are these problems? How might they be reduced?

In recent years, with an incredible economic achievement in some regions, there has been a growing trend that the cost of household expenses in the city areas is ever-increasing. Therefore, it is necessary to identify the problems of this trend and provide some feasible solutions to alleviate its severity.

There is no denying that a high urban life criterion exerts a series of negative influences to the society. From the social aspect, the first demerit is that it leads to the disappearance of green areas. This is because the public facilities such as the transportation system should continuously develop and expand in order to satisfy the city dwellers' ongoing expectations. Under this circumstance, parks and grassland are likely to be sacrificed for these constructions. From the individual perspective, a higher standard of living in the urban area increases households' financial burden. Unlike the suburbs, the prices of goods and services in the town are much more expensive which make families are unable to afford their life overhead and money-oriented stress gradually.

However, there are several practical proposals to settle this regretful situation. For one thing, the government should introduce the incentive policy to its citizens who intend to relocate to the countryside. In combine with this implementation, government should also construct public transportation facilities between urban districts and suburbs to ease people maintaining their jobs in the town. For another, government ought to introduce the regulation to prohibit land developers to destroy massive grassland and gardens for future buildings and subways expansions.

In conclusion, it is convincing that governmental actions play a vital role to settle the problem from a higher living standard in the city areas effectively and efficiently.