Topic : The effect of the illiteracy

No governments wants to have a higher number illiterate people in their country. In fact, the more illiterate there are, the more the country does not develop well. Because illiteracy has an impact on many sectors of a country in terms of causing crime and undevelopement of the nation.

The first effect of illiteracy is that it makes the country develop slowly. A large sum of money in funds of the nation have to support jobless people instead of investing in science or modern technology. The illiterate have to live on the social welfare scheme. As a result of illiteracy, people find it so difficult to have a job without the ability of reading or understanding simple documents. Therefore, the illiterates become a burden of society causes to make the nation poorer.

Another effect is that illiteracy increases in crime. The illiterate who can not read any books or documents; how could they understand huge numbers of written regulations in their society? So, to them, laws are meaningless. This sometimes makes them become unconsciously criminals. For example, they do not know that they disturb the peace or fight with others is to break laws. Another example, my neighborhood, who is illiterate, is abetted to sell forbidden goods. He does not think that it is so serious as it is. As a consequency, he had to spend 5 years in prision.

In conclusion, the illiterates are dependants on the limitted benefit system of the nation. Moreover, it also creates many problems in social secruity system. The government should have appropriate measures to help reduce number of people who can not read and write. The countries will be richer and people will be happier if there is no the illiterates in.