IELTS essay: Topic about dependence on computers

Topic : We are becoming increasingly dependent on computers. They are used in businesses, hospitals, crime detection and even to fly planes. Is this dependence on computers a good thing or should we be more suspicious of their benefits?

In this computer-dominated world, just by a simple click, everything can be easily carried out. This idea, however, does not receive unanimous approval from global citizens. It is argued that computers will jeopardize the future of our modern world. This essay will focus on to what extent computers may affect our lives.

First of all, the advantages that computers yield are blindingly obvious. Nowadays, with a well-programmed computer, we can get things done with pinpoint accuracy. With the omnipresence of this technological product, for the years to come, there will be probably no news about "human errors" that hit the deadlines. Furthermore, there will be a significant reduction in human employment. A lot of time and energy would be saved if computers went into global application. Employers would be the first to benefit as the desired results are still achieved with the cost on human labor kept to the minimum.

On the other hand, there are still some imminent dangers. Too much dependence on computers envisages a vision in which the world will end up in catastrophe if one day, all the computers fail to fulfill human's demands. This discouraging prospect is quite likely especially now, when the Internet is so "densely populated". Research shows that by 2020, Internet will have been overloaded whereas its potential alternative still remains unknown. The expanding use of computers also accounts for the escalating rate of unemployment. The approaching consequence is predictable: the society will be suffocated by social crimes once redundant people grow more and more reckless.

To conclude, I contend that the issue of wide use of computers should receive a more considerate approach as the advantages that it brings about are far from laughable.