'from the top of a skyscraper' - Small town or big city - TOEFL

Hello everybody,

this is my second attempt to the TOEFL Essay format. I'd appreciate any comment and suggestion.

Some people prefer to live in a small town. Others prefer to live in a big city. Which place would you prefer to live in? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

The issue at hand is the question whether one likes to live in a big city or in a small town. The variety, atmosphere and anonymity are the reasons I prefer a big city as the place to live in.

Firstly, big cities attract big people. If you live in metropolitan area such as New York City, for instance, you might get used to see celebrities such as Woody Allen or Robbie Williams frequently. Moreover you can enjoy your favorite bands live in concert and attend great sport events such as World Championships. I love being able to support my home soccer team in matches against renowned international teams.

Beyond these special occasions big cities enhance your day to day life. There are new places to be discovered every day. For example I might stumble upon a great new Indian restaurant I have not noticed before. These chances of unexpected experiences increase my personal quality of life.

Additionally, a big city appeals to my aesthetic feelings. Seeing pulsating red and white traffic lights going up and down the roads from the top of a skyscraper is an unmissable pleasure. These views are inspirations for my own artistic works and add to the "big city lifestyle".

Finally, anonymity is a great characteristic of the life in a big city. If you have the crazy idea of walking backwards down the roads half-naked with nothing but a water-melon on your head then you should do it in a big city. Only there you can observe the funny and interesting reactions without the fear of being the target of laughter for the next decades. Thus a big city offers my creativity a space to grow.

To conclude, big cities are the places to live in. I hold this believe due to the pleasures that come out of the variety, art and anonymity a big city has to offer.