GRE TEST:Issue130 How children are socialized today determines the destiny of。。

I really want to know if you can understand my point or not~~~~

Thank you !!!

There is probably not a definate or a correct answer to the question of how should children be socialized, since people are both solitary and societal. The title statement implicates that we have not yet learned how to properly socialize children; however, I find the speaker is too pessimistic to assert the point. Surely, to which extent that children are socialized determines the future of society, yet as long as the education can reach a state of equilibrium, the society can progress continuesly; today's methods of children's socialization, though flawed, still contain much of merits.

Admittedly, as more and more parents choose to home-school their children, in fear of their children's being tainted with bad atmosphere of enviroment, more and more children are isolated from complex external environment; as clever and erudite they might be, some of them would be lack of the consious of coorperation or competition. Being unable to communicate properly or smoothly, the 'victims' of the limited socialization would be faced with more obstacles and hardships than others. What is more disruptive to the society, causing by the unbalanced education, would be the decline of effectiveness of society acitities, a perdictable result from children's rejections to be involved in social events.

Nevertheless, a better society not necessarily would be brought about by well-socialized children; many great scientists and scholars have deficiencies of communication with other people, yet possess some extraordianry features that others, who concentrate on how to being polite or pleasing others, do not possess. For instance, Newton, a great scientist of Britain, and Luxun, a great novelist of China, both are known to be solitary people and hard to get along with. One must hold his conscious of personal being firmly, even sometimes would go against some problematic norms of society, in order to create and work without some extrinstic limitations.

Moreover, the social trends and moral standards nowadays determines, to some extent, that the future generation should better to hold their own opinions and characteristics rather than being a pushover. Immanuel Kant suggests that one has the freedom to choose their own ends and they certainly own themselves; therefore, the best policy for parents to socialize children might be applying few policies, instead of making too much goals, such as to be well-socialized, for them.

In sum, each society has their own specific situation, and people can not perdict the effects of certain education, whether the one focus on socialization of children or not; therefore, there might not be a fixed way of raising children, hence, to my understanding, parents' and schools' different focus of education might lead to diverse personalities of children and, at the same time, a dynamic society, which might perform better than that all children's being well-socialized.