TOEFL: Does Television destroy our bonds with friends and family?

Topic: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television has destroyed communication among friends and family. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

It seems that the main entertainment after working and studying for some people is to throw themselves into a sofa and enjoy the rest of a day, keeping away themselves with outdoor socializing. Consequently, some critics claim that television has destroyed communication among people. Although television has been somewhat harmful in its effects, I hold the view that it has hardly "destroyed" communication among friends and family.

The advert of television, on the one hand, actually provides people topics that can be discussed in their leisure time. To some extend, it has increased the communication among people. A diversity of programs on the screen makes the lives of people more colorful. Titanic had brought a worldwide uproar by its extolling and of fascinating immortal love, audiences would exchange their feeling when they meet, which giving them a difference of perspectives as well as enhancing the relationship between people.

On the other hand, the communication among individuals is influenced by a various of factors, and it is hardly to assert that it was television that inhibited the interaction of people. Human beings are nowadays exposed to a vast amount of information source, such as internet and telephone, even though television still plays a significant role in people's daily lives, others mass media have invaded people's life and granted people more choices. It is also found that the number of people traveling has gone up faster and faster, which means people would rather spend their leisure time traveling with their family or friends. This trend, as far as I am concerned, could be a reminder that the emotional exchange of people has been forged.

Admittedly, television would bring some bad impacts, which some people could not escape. For instance, too much spending time watching television would cause some people another day waste, they shut doors and immerse themselves into programs. In this case, these people might be decrease their time spent with family. However, it seems to me that even television were not existent, surely these people would have found other escapes.

In conclusion, as I mentioned earlier, people have very little time for anything today in modern society, television is merely among many other factors that affect communication, and is definitely not the main cause of degradation. Therefore, I do not agree that television has destroyed communication among friends and family.