IELTS: technology versus traditional skills and life

When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

On the one hand, I admit that it is advanced technology that has brought a tremendous change to our life and more specifically speaking, thanks to the development of science and technology, the quality of our life has been improved significantly. On that other hand, at a certain degree, it is also the technology that pushes the traditional skills and ways of life in a danger. However, so long as we work hard, we can make both of modern and traditional well balanced.

At first, no one can stop the advancing strides of society with the aid of technology, "Technology makes life more beautiful". It is so nature that some traditional skills of low productivity will be replaced. For example, some labor intensive industries like textile had been substituted by machines. Most of processes relying on hands of workers now can be finished efficiently by enginery controlled by computers. The original weaving skills together with the old manual loom have been fading out gradually. Just for this case or likewise, it is no necessary to spend money to keep the undeveloped status.

Secondly, some of traditional skills and ways of life must be maintained as the symbol of human being's culture, such as China's traditional ceramic industry and tea industry, both of them are valuable heritages of Chinese ancestors as well as the splendid civilization achievements of humankind wisdom on the earth. We must take some actions to keep them for our future generations. They are deserved to be protected.

To sum up, technology will play its role in the society's moving on continually, meanwhile, we should give more attention to something traditional with high value for us in order to not let them fading out with time flying gradually.