'teacher is a challenging career' - What makes a good teacher?

Topic: What makes a good teacher?

It is undeniable that being a teacher is a challenging career. There are so many things to make a good teacher. It is my opinion that, most importantly, the teacher has to be knowledgeable, responsible and caring.

First of all, a good teacher has to be an expert in the subject she teaches. A teacher who does not know their subject well enough, can never fully pass on the treasured knowledge and skills which were preserved by our ancestors to her students. If the teacher does not fully understand what she teaches, she will not be able to answer students' questions and doubts. It will lead to students' knowledge gap and result in serious problem later on. Thus, a wide range of knowledge is absolutely needed to make a good teacher. It is usually seen that teachers are going for courses to strengthen and improve their skills. It is the way teachers keep themselves competitive and updated to new techniques. It will be a misconception if people say only students study. In fact, teachers, do too - especially good teachers.

In addition, good teachers have to be very responsible because they are the ones who play a very important role in nurturing our next generations who are going to determine the future. Thus, good teachers have to be responsible towards their job and understand their importance. There is no point giving students tons of homework if the teachers refuse to mark them. Is this fair when students do their jobs but teacher, on the other hand, have not done theirs? It is not what a responsible teacher should have done. Moreover, what determines a good teacher is the way they face their mistakes. Teachers are human and human make mistakes. The crucial thing is how they face their mistakes and correct them. A good teacher will always sincerely face their mistakes, give her students a reasonable explanation and apologise to them. By doing that, the teacher can not only prove that she is fully responsible towards her job but also gain trust and respect from her students and set a good example for them to follow.

Lastly, a good teacher should be caring towards the students. Most students are immature compared with adults. They undergo emotional revolution and encounter a lot of problems. A good teacher should sense those problems and approach them in a sensible method. Each and every student has different characteristics. For some of them, the teacher can be critical. However, harsh words will only worsen the situation sometimes. Thus, in order to take good care of the students, the teacher has to truly understand them. Understanding can only be achieved by care and communication over a long time. Thus, it takes time and efforts to become a caring teacher.

It is without a doubt that being a teacher is a challenging career and it is even harder to become a good teacher. Not only a good teacher has to be knowledgeable in her works but she has to be responsible and caring at the same time.