"What is Success": LUCK OR HARD WORK?

The basic question that comes into our consideration here is "what is success". Is becoming reputed and dignified in the society you live in ,is success? For me neither success nor failure is constant, to become successful is to accomplish your dreams and to achieve your goals. Even a common man living with his small but very happy family, in my belief is successful, compared to a bureaucrat who has not yet accomplished his goals.Everyone has different ambitions in his life,ranging from becoming distinguished in the society to be pecunious.

I feel the better word for "luck" is "opportunity". In my opinion, success comes to those who work hard and well utilize the opportunity bestowed upon them. As it has been said about luck "The lady luck is very greedy" it comes only to those who really work hard to achieve something great in life and who believe in the realization of their dreams. These people are bound to become successful but on the other hand, the people who are indolent and wait for the luck to fall upon them are destined to lose at the end.

The people who became famous just because of sheer luck are rare and they can not be our role models. The exceptions are not the rules. We are never advised to follow these rare or exceptional people in the world. For example , the people who became rich just by winning the lotteries are very few and we should not follow these people because it may happen that we risk all of our life's savings in buying lottery tickets and end up in nothing.

Hence we have to continue working hard and one day when the opportunity will come we can surely achieve our goals. But the person who is just sitting and waiting for the right time to come will not be able to do anything when this opportunity will be there because he is lacking in the basic skills and knowledge as he has never worked hard. And even if he gets this opportunity somehow ,he is more likely to fail because of his inability to put efforts continuously , in that field.

Therefore I very firmly believe that hard work is the most essential and basic key to success and the success is very different from becoming famous. Success is , in my opinion, the accomplishment of your dreams and goals, and that can be achieved only by hard work accompanied by patience to never give up till you achieve your goal.