IELTS task 2: STUDYING OVERSEAS OR STAYING HOME

Topic: The idea of going overseas for university study is an exciting prospect for many people. But while it may offer some advantages, it is probably better to stay at home because of the difficulties a student inevitably encounters living and studying in a different culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, education is commonly taken as vital precedence of those who want to acquire basic background knowledge to have a bright career prospect in forward future. To pursue higher education, many people claim that studying overseas would be a practical option, whilst the concerns about experiencing difficulties in an unfamiliar culture may hinder students from taking such valuable chances. In my perspective, they should utilize this method despite the encountered obstacles rather than procrastinating their studies' progress.

To begin with, the issue involved when being in a foreign country is mainly about a widespread phenomenon called culture shock. In details, it is considered as the personal disorientation when students moving to a new country encounter a foreign way of life. Despite the fact that culture shock's impacts, such as language barrier, information overload or infinite regress, on individuals are inevitable, it is only a short-term issue basically dealt by the students' positive response rather than hostile preliminary attitudes. Yet, as students in any society are personally affected by cultural contrasts differently, hardly are there any solutions to entirely prevent culture shock.

In addition, the advances in educational infrastructure of most foreign schools would be a tangible motivation for people to study abroad. Once affording this unrivalled opportunity, students' knowledge acquisition would be highly encouraged due to rich facilities, high-quality curricular materials, qualified lecturers which are mainly subsidized by the governments. Drawing from Canadian methodology about investing in education, it has spent an immense fund only on this major to improve the quality of curricular system.

To conclude, as the anxiety about going overseas for further education is apparently understandable. However, the promising benefits through such valuable opportunity are worth being derived.

hope will get your supports and comments :)