'there is still discrimination against women' - how this problem evaluated to the present days?

The position of women has changed a great deal in many societies over the past 50 years. But these societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The World Societies have changed especially in term of gender equality that women position becomes a measurement over 50 years. It was never happened before the notion of feminism came. However, I strongly agree even there has been the idea of women rights that there is still discrimination against women.

Firstly, feminism was occurred in the past 50 years ago. It has been leading gender equality between men and women. As the impact of this, many countries in the world starting to implement gender law to improve woman rights. For example, in Indonesia, a woman has opportunity to become people representative in DPR-RI (People Representative of Republic Indonesia). This has been becoming fact that Indonesia has great deal with women position in the societies.

In contrast, women are still being discriminated in term of leadership issue. They are not fully treated like a man as the notion of gender equality should be. For instance, in Indonesia female president become taboo especially for Muslim. Even though, the fourth president of Republic Indonesia was a woman, Megawati Soekarno Putri. Besides, in people representative women only have small percentage compare with man. The limitation of women is as fact that the role of man still dominant in Indonesia parliament. It is because majority of people believe men should become superior in front of women and it is mean women do not treat equal in parliament.

In conclusion, equality between women and men are still become a problem in several society because of vary factors such as religious issue, even the gender law is already on the field. That is way we cannot say the gender equality have achieved.