[ IELTS Task 2] the standard of living in country benefits cities rather than rural areas

A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefits cities rather than rural areas

What problems might this difference causes ? How might these problems be reduced ?

Please give some feedback to improve my writing skill for IELTS. Thanks in advance !

The rapid economic growth in many countries has led to a widening gap between cities and rural areas. This also causes a corresponding increase in the number of problems that need to be tackled, as now will be discussed.

To begin with, the imbalance between the standard of living in cities and that of countryside poses a variety of repercussions. Firstly, it is clear that when the quality of life of city dwellers is improved, many people in rural areas tend to move to the cities to seek a better life with higher level of amenity. Consequently, the cities are not adequate space to cover a great number of people to live in, which results in the deterioration in the standard of living, for example, the services of health care are affected due to the annually overloaded hospitals. Furthermore, this problematic issue lays strain on the environment. Because of the proliferation of population in the cities, an enormous amount of waste are dumped into the environment everyday that leads to the heavy pollution. Last but not least, that the standard of living in cities outpaces that in the countryside gives rise to the discontent and social unrest. It inevitably widens the gap between the rich and the poor in society. For example, the underprivileged in remote regions are deprived of access to basic entertainment like theater or farmers in rural areas have to make ends meet everyday, however, rare still stuck in the vicious cycle of poverty.

Nevertheless, many initiatives are efficiently taken to ameliorate the problem. A right policy and an investment program should be implemented in rural areas to foster the local economy and manufacturing. For instance, if the Government creates more jobs for rural residents after their harvest time or provide subsidy for farmer to plant crops and raise livestock, the matter will be fixed. Another measure can be upgrading infrastructure in the countryside such as electricity system, amusement centers, schools, medical clinics. As a result, it definitely bridge the gap in the standard of living between the urban and the rural areas.

In conclusion, there are a wide range of options available to handle the problems described above to stimulate the development of the whole country. I hold a firm belief that the Government will have a proper approach to take the standard of living in both regions to the equilibrium.