TO SPEND BILLIONS OF MONEY ON THE SPACE PROGRAM? CLEP essay

SHOULD UNITED STATES CONTINUE TO SPEND BILLIONS OF MONEY ON THE SPACE PROGRAM OR SHOULD THE MONEY BE DIRECTED TO OTHER AREAS.

As we continue to live in 21st century, we find ourselves blessed with all pleasure and comforts of the science and its continously developing technology. Science has played important role in providing us resources which our ancestors never had.I remember my grandfather saying "Knowledge is power" and today I think application of knowledge is power.The ongoing development of science in space is the thirst for knowledge to gain more information about our planets, galaxies,

meteors, meteroids by sending satellites into the space. In the modern civilzation, all the nations are spending billions of money on space research and satellites. The telecommunications, weather forecast, radio broadcasts, military operation and spy satellites are advatanges of the space research.

The information of weather forecasts recieved from our satellites in space helps us daily to know about the weather and prevent any havoc or disastrous weather.The daily broadcasting of weather, information about amount of rain or snow expected in particular region as noticed by weather scientists from data sent by satellites in space have been proved benficial in the lives of common man.The first thing a sailor planning his tour,a pilot flying commercial plane, and a farmer harvesting his crops will do is look for the weather conditions.So, the knowledge about the weather has been applied in many ways and will continue to benefit our lives.

Our ability to communicate to our distant soldiers, families, and friends in other countries through internet and mobile phones with better reception is another advantage of satellites transmission in space.This makes the world connected and we recieve updates from our loved ones thousands of miles away from us.Imagine, if there are no satellites to allow this transmission, we are unable to find about well being of our soldiers in Iraq or Afghanistan. Many of our veterans who served our

country during world war 2 surely can tell the difficulties to reach their families that time.

In addition, if there are no broadcasts on televesion or radio about world wide happenings, the recent earthquake in Haiti, floods in Pakistan, and fall of meteriod in China would have remained unknown to us. We come across different shows on television that focus on the problems of other

countries in the world or in another states of our own country.That is how, we found out the problems of hunger prevalent in whole world. However, television plays a significant role in creating awareness of emerging problems in the world and educating people to eradicate the problems.

To conclude, information from satellites help us to connect to the world, update our knowledge about world happenings, and tell us the measures to take to benefit our society.The hunger problem would have been unnoticed if there are no broadcasts from our satellites from different parts of world.