Space exploration requires vast sums of money. Justifiable?

Hi. I am preparing for PTE and will need your inputs to improve upon my writing skills.

Space exploration requires vast sums of money. Is the amount of money spent on space research justifiable? Could the money be better spent?

Although it is often argued that whether government should spend taxpayers money on space research programmes or not as the large amount of money is required for these expeditions and there are no direct benefits that taxable population get in return. However, I earnestly believe that the money consumed in these programmes is a wise utilization of it and in this essay I shall explain why.

First of all, environment outside the earth is alien to humans but the events that happen out there directly effect the Earth's climatic conditions. Moon is the satellite of earth and the position of moon affects the weather around the coastal areas. The advancement in the forecasting and communication technology has been made possible only with the advent of space technology. Meteorological department is now capable enough to issue any warnings related to worsening of weather conditions. Farmers are now able to arrange for alternate means of cultivation in case they get the bad rain forecast. All of these are example to prove that space exploration has helped humans in myriad number of ways.

In addition, It is wrong to say that space program is costly affair. India is the world's first country to launch the satellite in the Mars orbit and with only the one tenth of cost spent by USA. So, with the prudent utilization of resources the cost of these missions can be reduced.

Taking these points into consideration, from a personal perspective, without a shadow of doubt, I am inclined to conclude that every penny spent on the space exploration is worth and we can only assume where these innovations will land up the human beings in the next century.