What sort of knowledge and skills that universities should provide?

Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace.Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake,regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What,in your opinion,should be the main function of a university?

In all over the world, universities have a great importance of preparing students to future work life.Therefore, higher educational institutions must ensure students with valuable and necessary knowledge and skills.However,there are some people who don't agree with this idea and argue that universities have to provide knowledge for its own favour and the efficiency and benefits of these knowledges for students' future job are not in liability of universities.

In todays' world,the employers looking for much qualified and skilled workers.Because,it is more efficient in terms of diminishing training course expenditures of new employers.In my opinion,whether the universities prepare students for future and plays an instrumental role in finding better and suitable job,then they must provide students with certain knowledges.Meanwhile, they have to supply student with practical and experimental activities on their course rather than unnecessary knowledges for their next job life.If universities don't have a suitable material and technical basis for implementing these activities,then they may sign an agreement with appropriate private and public organizations for training students on their course.Alternatively,all of the students have to look forward to doing a practice regardless of universities policy.From this point of view,they may find practical and sometimes unpaid jobs on their course while they study.By this way,they can improve their working abilities and gain practice chance of theorical subjects.

On the other hand,some people support the idea that universities must teach only in frame of their own benefits regardless of students future.This policy includes some addition subjects and knowledges which are not directly useful for their course or future job.They believe that the university is not the place of education which solely gives a specific knowledges but also provides other subjects for enhancing overall outlook of student.

In conclusion,in today's world,all of the higher education institutions must give a top priority to prepare skilled workers for future.Because,the modern labour market needs much more qualified skilled and experienced workers.