Social Life in Apartment Buildings - IELTS Writing Task 2

Some people say that living in a high-rise apartment block is a lonely experience because there is no community spirit. Others say that people who live in high-rise apartments have a much better sense of community than those who live in houses.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Living in residential tower is arguable. Despite of some opinions say that living in tower block could isolate residents from the community, many people believe that people who live in apartment tower have a feeling of belonging to community better than those who live in complex houses. In this essay, I will look at some of the arguments for and against living in block of flats.

People have several arguments against living in a high-rise building block. People have several arguments against living in a high-rise building block. They say it is not the best choice to develop social life by dwelling in apartment complex. Living in tower block require less commitment by the inhabitants. As a result, the tenants disassociate themselves from the society. In addition, they tend to live individually and lack of communication among their neighbors. It surely causes a lonely experience for the dwellers.

However, some people do not agree with those statements. In their point of view, actually residing in a flat could be a good option for people who like to socialise more. For example, a conversation started with a simple hello, turns into a long hours communication. Furthermore, residents tend to meet different kind of people, so there are higher chances to build social skills.

To conclude, although some people argue that dwellers of apartment building would feel lonely because of poor communication with neighborhood, I would agree that actually living in the tower block is more effective to develop social life because the tenants have more chance to encounter more different type of people.