SAT: Are there situations where it is more ethical not to follow established rules?

Assignment: Are there situations where it is more ethical not to follow established rules? Provide reasons and examples.

Principally, ethic can be defined as morality or the good will act of something. Humankinds hold ethic as the way of living to make peace in the society. This is primarily resulted from religious beliefs. However, most acts are limited by laws in order to prevent bad practices from violators. In some circumstances, I believe that it is better not to obey established regulations.

In Thailand and other Buddhism countries, a monk, usually male, is not allowed to get in touch with women. This is because it is not appropriate when he or she is together. If any monks break this rule, they will be severely punished and probably dispelled from their sect. According to my observations, readings, and experiences, I used to see the woman who was drowning near Chao Phra River. Fortunately, while the monk was walking, he saw her and wanted to save her. He contemplated the prohibition about women. Still, he decided to help her. He said that the situation was immediate and he did not want to let her die. He saved her life.

Another case deals with doctor and patient. If the patients were seriously ill and likely to die, should the doctor end their lives? This is a controversial issue in modern society whether terminating their lives is a right action or not. Many people say that patients have a right to carry on their lives. Others believe that they will have a worse life; they may not be able to afford the huge expenses of treatment. My friend, Mark, was a doctor at Sagini Hospital in Thailand. He treated the patient who was afflicted by cancer and slept unconsciously since she came. He could not know what she thought about her life. He said there was almost no possibility for her to wake up and live like normal person again. So, he consulted his colleagues and her family to permit him to eliminate her. Finally, he pulled off the plug as he contended that it was the best way to alleviate her pain. She died peacefully.

Overall, there are many cases to be seen that many people should not follow the rules as it is an acceptable practice. The examples of the monk saving a girl and ending patient's lives can explicitly illustrate. Although the laws serves as the standard of good conduct and some punishments, morality is occasionally beyond and needs to be applied depending on each situation.