Singing talent show program in television - IELTS TASK 2

Televised talent shows have become popular in many societies today.

Are these shows a good method of finding talented people, or are they just entertainment?

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the existence of talent show in television is more attractive in the public. Some believe that these shows a good way to get talented people, whereas others think it is just providing entertainment. This essay will discuss both point of view.

Some people tend to join televised talent show to gain their purpose of life to success because this events more likely to the inhabitant who want to be artist but they do not have more money to show their hidden capability. For instance, American Idol and The X factor USA is held in the United States of America, Indonesia Idol and Indonesia Got Talent is held in Indonesia which offer several music competition in their country. These shows help them to change from ordinary people to "megastar" in their country or maybe in the whole world. As a result, these programs are good to get talented people.

On the other hand, some claim that this show intent on entertainment. There is no business to obtaining real talented people. So, many talent shows in television offer some story from candidate such as their background family, their unique styles. Audience are asked to vote their favorites nominee based on their performance, but in reality, some viewers vote their contestants based on their story which is captured on media such as their big effort to become star, their effort to boosting their family income.

To conclude, I would argue that this programs prefer to show talented people for entertaining than searching real talent for their purpose.