TOEFL: selecting / processing information- very important skill a person should learn

The whole topic descreption is here: What is a very important skill a person should learn in order to be successful in the world today? Choose one skill and use specific resons and examples to support your choice.

My writing:

Many skills are contributing to the succeed of modern people, such as reading, writing, communication. The ability to make use of massive information is the one may outdo others in this Web 2.0 Times.

Today , information are produced by both media and individuals. A study shows that the number of books published each year after 2000 surpasses the sum of that before 1900. It means people have more choices today. However, disadvantages also emerge in this trend. Though more books are in the market to be choose, less people spend their time to read a book in depth. In addition, the wide-spreade Internet, especially after the advent of social network, makes everybody can generate information and shared it with others. Each day, millions of blogs and vedios spread from one person to the other by the help of the Internet.

To adjust to this new trend, people make some changes correspondingly. One main adaptation is to lengthen their time on reading and watching. Commonly, people spend more than three hours surfing on the Internet. Some acquire much useful information from it. For instance, scholars can easily chech information by using Google Scholar Search. Unfortunately, most of them waste much time and are lost in massive information. They switch from page to page without realizing the time passing by.

Several tactics are recommened to cope with massive information. The first one is called Time Management, which applys many means to restrict time consumption on each task. According to this method, one can save much time on meaningless wandering in the Internet world. For example, in order to reduce the time of reading news, one can set a 30 minutes alarm clock. The other is to simplify the information sources. To be specific, it means exclude the sources that are seldom used or less useful, and concentrates on hands of main sources.

To conclude, as the amount of information increasing dramatically, people have to acquire the skill of selecting and processing information efficiently. This skill, to some degree, determines one's achievement in today's world.