'saving land for the endangered animals' - toefl IBT issue

With the development of science and technology, human beings have gained increasing control over the world than anytime in the history. The human race have greatly expanded their territory which is beyond their ancestor's wildest dream. However, the comfortable and easy life we enjoy is gained at the price of ignoring the survival of other animals on earth. Now, though hard to accept, many animals have disappeared on the planet and many of the rest are in great danger. So, from my viewpoint it is more important to save land for endangered animals than to use the land for farming, housing and industry.

It is true that the significance of developing industry and building more houses for people can not be neglected, people now are depending on many of these commodities and some are waiting to move out of their ratty and old houses and live into new and nice ones. In addition, the call for more food to feed the population explosion is urgent. I think these problems can be solved through careful and reasonable plans but the situation that animals, once die out, nothing can be done to make it up.

Animal genes have valuable meaning in biology. The genes they carry are crucial to other species on earth. The food chain theory reveals that every species depends on each other. If one kind of animal dies out, its predator will be influenced because they can not find enough food. What is worse, this effect will pass on to other species as a chain. As a matter of fact, it is human who is at the top of the food chain will eventually be affected .Thus only with gene diversity can every species live in prosperous.

Furthermore, people should consider seriously that the resources are not infinite, the earth can not bear uncontrolled explosion of human population, or else people will end up with no food and space to survive. Actually a mount of land can be better used to meet our needs if we make a careful plan. Many grains are planted to feed cattles while in African countries many people are dying from starvation. If people can stop building large but unnecessary houses and decrease buying many luxury products, many land can be save to do the right things.

In conclusion, the importance of saving land for the endangered animals outweighs using these lands for food, house and industry purpose. The calling for protecting the endangered animals should raise everyone's attention; only through our efforts as a whole can we enjoy the beautiful world.