'Salary, work atmosphere' - factors contribute to job satisfaction?

As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction?

How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

In these times, a major part of most people's adult life is spent at work therefore job satisfaction plays a serious role in their individual well-being. I believe that the key factor is salary. Moreover atmosphere and job security are other elements that have fundamental role in job satisfaction. However, I think it is not realistic that all employees have the same expectation of job satisfaction.

From one side, money for cost of living that is increasing day by day is the biggest need for people who are working or seeking for a job. As a result, if employers pay good salary covering more than employees need, they might ensure that most of them are contentment. In addition, atmosphere at work including workplace, co-workers, safety, environment and other conditions have strong effect on employees' not only fulfillment, but also efficiency. For instance, stressful workplaces definitely affect worker's behavior and eventually job satisfaction. Finally, unstable conditions of markets lead companies to decide to dismiss therefore employees always are worried to lose their positions. In these unpredictable conditions, job security that providing by employers through the longtime contracts can increase job satisfaction.

From the other side, I think expectation of job satisfaction depends on gender, marital status, rank, years of experience. For example, compared to men, women are more satisfaction when work in friendly environments.

to sum up, despite the fact that salary, work atmosphere, and job security are key factor for job satisfaction, but in reality, the expectation of job satisfaction for all employees is different.