Rules governing interpersonal relationships / mini-essay

Hello,

Could you please read my mini-essay and give me some feedback?

The prompt is:

Please provide a detailed and thoughtful, half-page (single spaced) response to the follow question: Are interpersonal relationships governed by rules? Why or why not?

Thank you in advance

Frederic

The textbook' authors refer to interpersonal relationships as lasting, tight emotional links perceived between two people that generate the development of relational expectations and fluctuating in their degree of interpersonal intimacy. Given that such enduring relations are not automatic but are the fruit of a long construction, they need to be managed thanks to an idiosyncratic, transactional type of human communication implicating reciprocal influence, i.e. interpersonal communication.

On the one hand, since that particular means of communication has been studied and that the subsequent findings have been applied to enhance the development of interpersonal relationships, one may state that rules stemming from works of induction exist. For instance, the mechanisms operating interpersonal communication as mutual transactions (such as the misinterpretation resulting from interferences caused by physical and psychological noises) are well identified and understood, despite divergent views are in opposition as regards the theoretical models that should be adopted. Furthermore, as governing principles, rules regulating the ontogenic functions of interpersonal relationships and communication have also been discovered.

On the other hand, the comprehension of the phylogenic functions of interpersonal relationships remains highly debatable as for their potential existence. For example, there is no denying that human beings necessarily need to communicate to stay alive as much as possible since Homo sapiens sapiens primates have adopted a social behaviour and a K-selected reproductive strategy. Nonetheless, although humans' obligate communication (ranging from autonomic to voluntary responses) is conspicuous, the development of interpersonal relationships to enhance the human species' reproductive success is far from being widely accepted.

Finally, although social scientists have already revealed numerous "natural laws" governing interpersonal relationships and their corollary, interpersonal communication, much remains to be unveiled about their ins and outs. Another issue retains the attention of researchers is the quasi-impossibility to apply universal, practicable solutions to dysfunctions occurring in interpersonal relationships due to the huge biological and cultural diversity present within the Homo sapiens sapiens species. Furthermore, one must bear in mind that the current absence of known rules does not necessarily mean that no rules exist.