Responsibility of both visitors and the host to respect culture differences

Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behavior. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Cultural difference is a problem many people will encounter when they travel to other countries. Some people think that local customs are more important while others think not. In my opinion, respects should be given by both sides.

The arguments in favor of local customs are based on the following reasons. Firstly, it is very natural for guests to obey the rules of the host. When people are in the territory of others and enjoying the foods, facilities and services provided, they should be responsible to watch their words and behaviors so as not to contradict what local people are used to thinking and doing, especially in religious countries. Take Muslim countries for example, it is not suitable for people to eat pork in front of Muslims because it may be considered as a blasphemy against God. Secondly, one of the most significant reasons for people to travel is to learn about and experience different cultures. If visitors do not follow local customs, which is a crucial part of a culture, the uniqueness of the culture will not be well preserved and is less likely to be appreciated by them. As a result, their purposes of travel will not be fully served.

On the other hand, the host country should also be tolerant to visitors' inappropriate behaviors as concerned with their customs. That is because it is unrealistic for visitors to know all about the particular practices and taboos of the host country. They should not be blamed if they have no idea about local culture and unintentionally offend local rules. Local people should give visitors some time to learn about their customs and to get used to them. Furthermore, revenues of local governments boosted by tourism may be spent on the protection and development of local culture. If tourists are kept out due to culture differences, their wishes to come will be reduced and they will contribute less to the host country.

To recapitulate, it is the responsibility of both visitors and the host to respect culture differences, which can be handled properly if greater tolerance can be developed.