"Respect everyone" is the most important school rule - O level

O level November 2007 (If you were drawing up a set of school rules for a new school, what would they be? Explain which of these you think are the most important)

Rules, always a part of our lives, which have been imposed on us ever since we were born. School rules are no exceptions either, which can defer greatly from one school to another. The amount of defiant students in schools are rising and fights are occurring more frequently and I believe that most of this attributes to the school rules imposed by the school, which are fairly ineffective. I will be discussing about three school rules in this essay and they are as follow; "School uniforms are mandatory", "Students who are late should be punished severely" and "Respect everyone". I feel that "Respect everyone" is the most important school rule.

It is not unusual to see students, especially those in high schools or in junior schools wearing their school uniforms to school everyday. These school uniforms give the students a sense of belonging to the school whereas if for example students wore their own clothes to school every day, it doesn't make the student feel as though they belong to the school at all as wearing school uniforms help to foster unity among their schoolmates and pride towards the school. Moreover, the problem of students wearing sleazy or offensive clothes to school would be eliminated as they are forced to follow the school's dress code. This teaches the students to adhere to dress codes which they have to be following when they grow up to work in the society in the future. "School uniforms are mandatory" is therefore an important rule for any school in the world.

Students should be punished whenever they are late for school severely. The reason is very apparent because being late to school will hamper their learning in school. In addition, they will develop lazy habits and often come late to school giving excuses like they have overslept at home which can pose a risk to their character development and future. If these students cannot even wake up to go to school on time, these students would probably be not interested in learning anything in school and would most probably procrastinate at home. These students would therefore suffer in the future as they have lost their morals in the process which for example is responsibility. If they are not even responsible for their own learning, how can they even go out to work in the society in the future? They would most probably come to work late or do not put in any effort in the work that they would be producing. Therefore "Students who are late should be punished severely" is an important school rule because if students are punished severely, they would not try it again as they fear the consequences and this would correct their thinking as they grow up. There is a phrase that says "Once bitten twice shy". I believe that this applies to students.

Respect is a moral that I believe every single person should have. Every problem that occur is usually because of a lack of respect for the other party. As students are still very young, they should be taught how to respect everyone including their peers and especially other higher authorities like their teachers. Respecting each other will provide students an opportunity to understand each other to prevent arguments and conflicts from happening. Once respect is established among students, the school would be a conducive environment for students to study. I believe that students should bow their heads to teachers whenever they are present the first time and greet them politely as this would nurture their character positively like for example manners. An example is Japan which already has this rule imposed on students already. Statistics have shown that Japan has one of the lowest crime rates in the world. I strongly believe that this is attributed to the character development that the Japanese students are exposed to. With respect, there would also be no bullies and fights. Therefore "Respect everyone" is the most important rule a school should be using.

"Respect everyone" is the most important school rule to have because if everyone respects one another, everyone would be able to understand each other and there would be no conflicts or disagreements. For example Albert Einstein says that "Peace cannot be kept by force, it can only be kept by understanding" Conflicts and arguments among students would not exist if they understood one another. Respecting each other also helps to nurture other morals like integrity, responsibility and manners. Students can then apply these life skills in the future and be a responsible citizen in their country. If students respect their teachers, they would not be late as they would not be respecting the teachers if they are late and they would also not wear sleazy or offensive clothes to school as this would means that they would not be respecting the school.

All in all, rules are meant to be followed. With effective school rules implemented in schools, I believe we would be seeing a change in our future generations. Society will then be a better place for everyone to live in.