Real life vs books - practical and theoretical ways to gain a knowledge.

It has been said, "Not everything that is learned is contained in books." Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

For many centuries, people have used to document their knowledge in books from being lost. Generally, there are two types of gaining knowledge, practical and theoretical. People may have different opinions, however, I do believe that both (practical and theoretical) have advantages and both of them are important to enrich someone's knowledge. Knowledge that learned from books are instructive and can be lost fast while knowledge learned from experience is demonstrative and can be last for long time.

Firstly, books today are important because not everything can be experienced. Sometimes obtaining knowledge from experience is costly and time consuming, therefore, books would be better solution. Knowledge from books can help us understand things quickly. On the other hand, data we get from books can be easily forgotten. Researchers approve that most of the knowledge we gain from books is contained in temporary storage of our brains and it is called short terms memory in fact, it will be removed quickly. In order to make it permanent it must go through experience. Personally, when I complete reading such book unfortunately 80% of the information will lost after one week time.

On the other hand, the practicability is one of the most essential factore of knowledge. Learning through experience is more beneficial than learning from books. Experience provide first hand information and gives self satisfaction. For instance, we can't ride bicycle by reading the instruction, we have to practice it many times. When I was in university, one day I noted that the telephone program coding I did on the Math Lap software stayed in my memory for long time since I experienced the telephone coding myself.

To conclude, both learning sources, books and experience, are important. It can be inferred that it is better to try to learn things practically as long as it is possible because it boosts our confidence and provides a better understanding of a subject. There is a proverb says "to see it to believe it".