TOEFL essay for rating - why attend University?

People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Education institutions play a key role in people's lives. Some students think attending the university provide them new experiences and increased knowledge. Although I understand their point of view, I have a different opinion. I believe students attend universities for career preparation because of few important reasons, which I will explore in my following essay.

To begin with, attending university helps students in career preparation because it provides them to focus on their goals. Career preparation is a process in which an individual can learn valuable things to reach their goals. For instance, in universities students are exposed to teachers, professors, tutors and career advisors. These professionals will mentor their trainee in the way they should go in order to select the right major. Therefore, pupil will be successful in focusing on the particular subject. Recent researchers found out that students who attend institutions were more mature and achieving their goals swiftly compared to the students not attending college at all. As you can see, exposure to colleges is the valuable asset for every student to reach their future goals.

In addition to that, career preparation is very essential because it helps to explore new areas. Generally speaking, learning is crucial for any person in order to be a successful man. For instance, in villages people will not be exposed to different kinds of people, races, and limited availability of resources to prepare for future. As a result, students develop insecurity and low self-esteem. On the other hand, pupil who attend college in bigger cities will be exposed to many cultures, diversities and people, so it will be easier for them to learn new cultures, languages and they were also exposed valuable resources helps them keep up to date in their studies. In other words, students will involve in many activities and will prepare better for their future. From my personal example, when I was a freshman, we used to have group discussions; these discussions helped me to accomplish my goals. All in all, learning new facts played a crucial role in the career preparation.

To sum up, while few students think going to university is to increase knowledge and new experience. I encourage every student to attend college for their career preparation because it allows them to focus on their future goal and explore the new facts.