Punishment for misconduct of school children

In some countries students who misbehave have to leave the school and are not allowed to continue their education. In other countries they can return to their studies after a suspension period. Discuss both options and give your opinion.

The idea of punishment is nothing new in human community and its purpose is to deter misconduct in society. However, the level of punishment for the same wrongful act may vary in different cultures. Unsocial attitude of children at schools is not an exception where some societies show little lenience and expel students from schools, closing the door of education for them forever. Contrarily, some cultures are content with rustication of students.

The principal argument in favour of removing students is that it sets an example for others. As evident from human behaviour the fear of punishment is more effective in restraining culprits. To illustrate this, Saudi Arabia is a country that verdicts death penalty when someone is found possessing drugs. Therefore, ratio of drug related crimes in the country is almost 0%. Contrarily, most Western countries, besides having effective law and order system, are now considering alternate ways of dealing with this curse, such as according to a recent report UK is considering establishment of areas where addicts will be free to use drugs. This case clearly shows that generally strict penalties keep people away from crimes. Hence, in some societies students are forced to leave schools on account of misbehave.

On the other hand, improving moral values is one of the key goals of education and elimination of children from schools is self-defeating for educational institutes. For instance, although fictional, two characters in the movie 'Le Miserable' portray two schools of thought. The main character of the movie is a person who committed crime out of choice. A police inspector believes in eliminating crimes by merciless punishment, but fails. Contrarily, a preacher works by persuasion and converts a criminal into a benevolent member of society. Thus, persuasion can work more effectively than punishment and schools should be encouraged to shoulder this responsibility. Moreover, eliminating children from school will push them towards even worse evils prevailing in society. Thus, expelling students is not an ideal course of action to respond student misconduct.

In summation, education should play its part in improving child behaviour instead of forcing them to leave schools. It is expected that school administration work towards this worthy cause.