IELTS-the proportion of older people is increasing,, positive or negative on society?

In many countries, the proportion of older people is increasing. Could this trend have more positive than negative effects on society?

In present-day society, there is an increase in the proportion of elderly due to the improved healthcare.Well equipped medical facility extends a person's live, however, the rising number of senior citizens have more negative effects on the society.

It is universally acknowledged that the growth in the proportion of senior citizens brings burden on the governments. In many countries, governments need to spend more money on healthcare system due to the rising needs. Sometimes, this may causes the governments put in less efforts on education or other areas as dozens of money is required on the infrastructure and "old homes". Furthermore, elderly tend to receive pensions every month in many countries. This will causes the young workers feel dissatisfied and strike which lead further financial problems to the governments.

An upward trend of the proportion of elderly brings burden on families too. When there is less youth in a family, the stress level will be increased as he or she have heavy responsibility. In addition, while families have more elderly to care for, less resources will be given to their children. Besides this, countries's work force will be decreased, thus many countries face financial crisis and working adults need to pay more and more taxes until they have enough trouble paying their own basic needs. Further, the age of retirement will extend a few years more.

To sum up, aging population is an unchangeable trend in contemporary society, thus it is essential for the governments to pinpoint the effective remedies.