IELTS Task 2 (Practice) - Competitive or Cooperative? Is competition the key to survive?

Question:

Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both this views and give your opinion.

Answer:

Nowadays, some people believe that competition is the key to survive in this fast-phased changes era. While, others argue that cooperation will be much more helpful to mingle faster within society. Both have been discussed by people, especially by parents, since years to seek which one is better than another to be stimulated to their own kids. However, although I agree that both have their own strengths which are beneficial in particular areas for children life in the future, personally I believe that being cooperative will bring more positive impacts to the up-coming generations.

Being competitive is a natural feeling that undeniable to be owned by each individual. It can be seen from these following illustrations: children who compete to get their parents' attentions; students to gather reward points in their class; or a worker to attain promotion. People somehow do not realize that the nature of being competitive has been developed within their own selves since they were fetus. In addition, this kind of attitude is crucially required to develop for people in certain professions such as athlete and entertainer. The atmosphere of strong competitions in both areas becomes the premiere motive for their actors to sharpen their competitive spirit in order to survive or even be on top.

Meanwhile, being cooperative is the attitude that needs to be stimulated frequently since it gradually develops by the time when people transform from individual to social beings. Aristotle said that "man is by nature social animal". It means that mankind and social groups are inseparable. To live comfortably in society which characterized by a group of heterogeneity individuals, being cooperative is highly favorable as the proverb said that 'we sow what we reap'. To illustrate, people will be helped after their offering their assistance in previous time. However, cooperation consists of such actions as helping each other, working together, sharing idea, and many group activities that are all practical for future life of the youngsters.

In summary, while to compete is part of each human nature, for me it is inevitable for mankind to cooperate with other due to the matter of fact that they are social beings. Therefore, parents should stimulate both skills to their descendants in order to sharpen their abilities to deal with both individual and social tasks in the up-coming period.