IELTS Essay: Pollution, traffic congestion and solutions

Please give feedback and correct grammatical errors

The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more. Discuss possible ways to encourage the use of public transport.

It is irrefutable that increasing traffic on roads has become a serious problem. This can be particularly attributed to growing number of private cars. There are several methods that can be used to mitigate levels of congestion and air pollution. One of them is by making improvements in public transport. In the following paragraphs I will put forth my arguments to support my views.

Nowadays, more and more people are relying on use of personal cars for transport. There are several reasons for this. Firstly, people can drive their car to their destination at any time without having to wait for a bus or train to come. Secondly, it is convenient and cheap means of transportation for a family of several people. Also, it can be very easy for sick and disabled people to travel on car .

There are various ways of decreasing the trend of driving private cars. The most important of these is by improving public transport such as train or bus service. Funds should be allocated in order to make these services cheaper and more reliable. Drivers should be required to pay a congestion fee for it will force people into using public transport more often than private cars. For example, in the city of London drivers are required to pay eight pounds if they are to enter in the centre of the city. Also, bus or train stations should be located closer to the residential areas so that people do not have to walk for longer distances, this will save time for them.

In conclusion, I believe that problem of traffic congestion and air pollution could easily be reduced by charging congestion fee and making public transport inexpensive and reliable.