Is playing computer games by youngsters a good or a bad thing?

The twenty first century brings a gradual shift away from traditional socio-cultural principles to those of modernized biases with contemporary ideologies and modes of life. It is taken for granted, now, that computers revolutionize people's lives changing the habits of living and transferring them into more convenient types, especially in computer gaming sector. The availability of wide range of computers games paved the way to generations of both more literate and more advanced young people but at the same may be accounted for numerous problems associated with these people's social organization and health maintenance.

From the one perspective, it is of a great benefit for young people to get involved with computer gaming considering it under the enhancing one's cognitive ability considerations. Playing particular game requires a strong combination of different abilities such as high concentration, elaboration of certain tactics to individual game, abstract and high level critical thinking and others children applies through the gaming process which lead to promotion of their skill, serving an entertaining purpose, simultaneously. The programming skills one acquires is the aspect which helps children to move forward into other initiatives in their life and it is the skill which potential employer is seeking to observe in them as in the perspective candidates. Multitasking, simultaneous tracking of many shifting variables and managing multiple objectives are other examples of other abilities children may push on which peculiarly make these children be competitive in their traditional classroom, future career and day-to-day life. Therefore, it is vital for children to be engaged with computer games, especially to those stepping into the adult world.

From the other perspective, however, computer gaming does not seem to be attractive when it comes to eventual addiction. The condition of being habitually or compulsively occupied with or involved in computer games begets serious deviations in the behavior of children when isolation and exasperation are only minor symptoms. Also, there is a direct correlation with the amount of time for computer games children possess and social interaction where the second proportionately decreases when children allocate exceeding time on pursuing these games. Children may get engrossed in these games in the enormous scales so that parent-children bonds could be broken up and the role of traditional family in community would be diminished leading to a slump of the whole community. Consequently, when not surveiled appropriately, children extreme implication in computer gaming could have deep-rooted consequences of no positive value as for children so for their milieu.

All things considered, I think that playing computer games has a lot to offer children in terms of skill promotion but only when watched over pertinently, while neglection of this measure may lead to eventual degradation of children and their full segregation from society.