IELTS;Some people think parents should read or tell stories

Q: Some people think parents should read or tell stories to children, while others think parents need not do that, as children can read books, watch TV or movies by themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The attitude of children towards society is majorly based on the knowledge acquired from books or through electronic media such as TV and movies. Some believe that parents have the responsibility of reading stories for their children while others oppose it with that children have the capability in reading or understanding things on media, so parents have any role in such matters. Here are some of the pros and cons to these beliefs.

Parents are considered as the first teachers to their kids and they can easily influence and shape children's thought process due to their intimate bonding with them . Importantly, they can convey the right information from the vast knowledge of books and media in a precise way. In addition, parents can get a chance to broaden their children's views by discussing various elements while telling stories. Furthermore, they can teach about communication skills such as usage of vocabulary, reading methods and even listening abilities. On the contrary, children may develop dependent attitude if parents help in such activities and they will acquire parents' attitude and behavior because of not getting an opportunity to think in a different direction.

Children will accomplish their unique individuality by making their self decisions and judgements if they are allowed to read and watch on their own. Moreover, it will help them to improve their concentration and dedication which in turn bring major changes in their academic progress. In addition, the creativity and imaginations will be moulded according to the their own experiences and perceptions. On the other hand, they will develop their own opinions without knowing about the positive and negative elements which will impact their personality development.

To summarize, I can say that both approaches have their own advantages and disadvantages but parents have the major impact on the development of positive attitude in children as they guide them in each element. However, parents should act in such a way that the learning abilities and independent characters of children should not be compromised.