IELTS : Nowadays people are producing more and more rubbish. Reasons and actions.

Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish.

Why do you think this is happening?

What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is seen that the quantity of rubbish produced by people and industries has increased these days. There are numerous reasons for this but among those the use of disposable utensils, polythene bags and packed food items are obvious. In the following paragraphs, I shall explain these reasons and put forward some steps that can be taken at government level to reduce it.

These days more and more people prefer to eat the ready-made food. The use of the products that are common to cook food quickly has also been increased. This has given rise to the rubbish production. In addition to this, people now prefer to eat in disposable plates and they use the utensils in many places such as parties and work. It frees the people from washing them. Moreover, they are very less expensive. These are the main reasons that encourage to use the items that causes increase in rubbish at the end.

In order to reduce the rubbish in a society, government should take steps. They can establish the plants to recycle the reusable and recyclable things. Along with the plants establishment, government should also educate people about the effect of rubbish on environment and each other's health. They should run the educational programs and advertisements to encourage people in putting general waste and recyclable rubbish in separate bins. Government can also set the rules and laws in making recyclable containers for the products.

To summarize, the increase in rubbish is due to the modern way of handling the products. By imposing laws and educating people, government can play a vital role in bringing this trend down.