IELTS TASK 2. The people's low interest of walking

Walking is known to be beneficial for health and yet fewer and fewer people are walking these days. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to tackle this problem?

Although it is already proven that walking is good for their healthy, but in this era only a few do people realize this. There are several causes of this problem, and some actions should be taken to diminish it.

There are several predominant factors of low number of people doing walking. These are the busy lifestyle and low security. Busy lifestyle requires the individuals to spend mostly their time to work. According to Bureau of Labor Statistics, American working hours showed gradually rising trend through the 1990s, recently it reached roughly 40 hours each week. As a result, they have no enough time for walking whether it for going to their office or in term of doing exercise.

Moreover, walking is unsafe because of the high percentage of crime regarding to pedestrians. In America, there were roughly 288 pedestrians killed in 2013 due to crime.

Nevertheless, there are several potential ways to solve those problems. Firstly, the company can create the rules concerning to the limitation of elevator utilizing by the workers. Otherwise, the workers can go up and down through the stairs, so it will improve their walking intensity. Furthermore, government needs to conduct several interesting walking events in the weekend, such as walking festival. This can encourage people to spend their weekend by walking. Ultimately, setting some CCTV up and building security post in certain area along the pavement can be the next measures.

To sum up, it is possible for the government and people to increase the number of people doing walking by releasing several steps. It would be better for both government and people to work cooperatively in realizing those ways.