TOEFL: "people are living longer now"; 'Healthier life, well educated people'

In general, people are living longer now. Discuss the causes of this phenomenon. Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay. (11)

Studying the history of human beings shows that men always try to find some ways to live longer. Nowadays, this dream comes to truth. Healthier life, well educated people, and changing the style of life are the three important causes of living longer that will be elaborated in present essay.

Medical improvements, which develop over hundreds of years, are the most significant causes of living longer. In the history, we have a lot of examples of public death just for common illnesses. In addition, immunity against diseases has such a striking effect that we can apparently see that the death rate of people because of epidemic illnesses decrease, drastically.

Secondly, expanding of knowledge through whole society is another reason of living longer, in that well educated persons always prevent themselves from risky treatments. As a concrete case in point, during spreading of swine flu in my home country, statistics demonstrate that the numbers of patient from educated people is less than uneducated because of the fact that they read about the this vital illness and its preventing methods.

Finally, changing the style of life is another reason for living longer. Modern people live in the safer place today than prehistoric one did. Furthermore, in the modern life convenient facilities such as computer, automobiles and automatic machines make our life easier. Therefore, dangerous tasks are carried out by machines instead of humans.

To conclude, augmentation in the length of life is the final aim of human beings effort. They create various types of method for healthier life. They try to learn knowledge about living longer, and they improve the style of their life in the hope that they can live longer.