People care too much about their appearance than before. Do you agree?

In this modern society, it seems to be strange not to have a taste of fashion. That's why people now take great care of their look. Proper and good appearance is necessary not only for work and business, but also for daily meetings and communications. It gives people the first impression about one's personality. However, more and more people tend to take excessive care of their appearances.

Firstly, people's heavy emphasis on their appearances is due to the wide availability of shopping malls and fashion centers. During the time when the world is enjoying the fruit of rapid economic growth, fashion boutiques and shops are ubiquitous to cater for the people of all ages. Women and teen girls, especially, shop all days long. To them, it seems to be a must to keep up with the latest fashion trends. No doubt, clothes nowadays are no longer basic necessities but interests, which drive them mad. They shop and shop until they are on the verge of bankruptcy.

Secondly, mass media is also a significant contributor to this lifestyle. As television, magazines and Internet present a huge number of celebrities with dreamlike appearance; people are not able to resist the desire to look better. In addition, with vouchers and discount available in shopping and beauty centre, people are more tempted to enhance their beauty. Sometimes, love affair is involved. For instance, in order to attract a girl, the boy can try to look as cool as her male idol. Nevertheless, in some cases, the problem becomes more serious when people spend too much time on their appearance that they ignore the other important things in their lives.

On the other hand, there are also plausible arguments in favor of the opinion that people's care on their appearance do not change at all. Since long ago, appearance has played an important role in one's success besides his/her ability and talent. However, for the purpose of looking good and proper for work, meeting and so on, neatly dressing in formal attire will do. Then, what are plastic surgeries and strict diets for? The answer is that people are obsessed with their appearance. With the striking development of technology and medical methods, numbers of people seeking plastic surgeries soar dramatically in recent years. While the better-off go for expensive plastic surgeries, the worse-off will come to the cheaper ones or go on a strict diet. However, all those methods just bring them more harm than good. Permanent scars and retorted faces after the wrong-going surgery and serious malnutrition and even death after the diets are the common consequences. What is more noticeable is that not only women but also men madly do plastic surgeries for a better look.

All in all, I am strongly convinced that people now care too much about their appearance. They waste their time; even risk their lives just for a stunning look. There are more important things in our lives that deserve more of our care, and appearance is just one of them.