Toefl: people are allowed to join politics

Within the last few decades, there has been an unprecedented development of people's perception about politics. In Plato's masterpiece "The Republic", he described the politician as the most sophisticated philosopher in the community. However, now this definition is sort of obsolete and citizens are free to announce their campaigns. I agree with the statement that individuals can do political work.

First of all, new people can bring fresh atmosphere to politics because they are not limited by bureaucracy. It is hard to deny that politicians have strong desires to make a great contribution to society at the very beginning. However, as time passes by, some of them are accustomed to bureaucracy and have lower job efficacy, which bring trouble to citizens. New officers can stimulate the government to work faster and more carefully.

Second, individuals from other areas in society can defend their groups' right and they are quite familiar with specific problems than some politicians. For example, if a person used to be an athlete, when becoming officers in sport department, he or she could represent their right , propose enhancing the construction of athletic facilities and improve national physical quality, due to having a good command of athletic knowledge and experiences.

Last but not least, people from other profession can also do well in politics, due to their abilities and qualities. For example, Micheal Bloomberg, who used to be a businessman, performed well when he was the mayor and did the job without any salaries. Also, Ronald Reagon, who was an actor before, was a competent president and helped the US to facilitate its national economy. We cannot exclude people from politics just judging from their vocations before

In conclusion, I agree various kinds of people take part in politics and what's the most important is that we should give them opportunities for the sake of their capabilities and qualities. As long as they want to serve the public, their ambitions deserve respect.