The Olympic Games still play a vital role in today's modern time - IELTS

Essay topic - Some people say that the Olympic Games no longer have a role to play in the 21st century. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Answer

It is sometimes argued that the importance of international gaming events such as Olympic has dramatically reduced nowadays. I completely disagree with this view.

There are several reasons why I believe that the Olympic Games are still significant today. Firstly, the Olympic tournament is the only platform, where each and every country on this planet participates irrespective of their mutual differences and extreme relationship. Secondly, the potential of these games bringing peace, harmony and resolving conflicts through the international diplomacy cannot be denied. Thirdly, for players this is the highest level to compete with best of the talent worldwide. In each coming Olympics, players are pushing human limits to new level that no one had ever thought in their wildest dreams.

Furthermore, these games bring many economical benefits and advances to the host country. To assist the organizing country for a successful event, many international financial institutes and banks offer long term and low interest loans. By these funds, governments can build necessary infrastructure such as Olympic village, transport facility like Airport, Metro train and buses. Although these facilities are built for the occasion of Olympic games, but they will benefit the most to the local inhabitants of the city for a long period of time. On top of this, many people get employment during and before the Olympic Games as tourist from overseas visit their city as a holiday destination.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the Olympic Games still play a vital role in today's modern time by bringing many positive developments to the world.